My Professional Life

logo

  • May 2009 – May 2010
  • Position: Sales Associate
  • Duties: Customer service, cashier, store maintenance, shipment

dkny-logo-vector

  • June 2010 – September 2010
  • Position: Sales Associate
  • Duties: Customer service, cashier, store maintenance

forever21

  • June 2010 – September 2010 & May 2011 – August 2011
  • Position: Sales Associate
  • Duties: Store maintenance, customer service, cashier

vsa

  • October 2011 – Current
  • Position: Fundraising Chair (September 2014 – May 2015)
  • Duties: Raising money through sponsors and fundraising, volunteering at regular and annual events, reporting for meetings and keeping members up-to-date, assisting other members with their duties when they need assistance, and maintaining regular contact with sponsors.

white-house-black-market

  • May 2012 – January 2015
  • Position: Sales Associate
  • Duties: Intensive customer service, store maintenance, cashier, shipment
  • Experience: This job for me was the epitome of retail. While my previous retail jobs have been straightforward and a little more simple, WHBM demanded much more from their employees. We were trained on how to calmly approach customers and dress them with minimal resistance. It is considered an upscale store so some articles ran on the pricey side, but this job taught me there is no such impossible obstacle. Through perfected communication skills and quality fashion tips and ideas, sales were hardly ever just one piece of clothing. I pride myself in learning to realize women’s needs and putting them into action. This section of my life also further increased my knowledge and interest in the world of women professionalism.

rutgers

  • September 2013 – Current
  • Position: Office Assistant
  • Duties: handling confidential documents, assisting with development of current and future course schedules, reaching out to instructors with important information, updating the School of Social Work’s webpage
  • Experience: Office work is completely and entirely paperwork. However, by nature, I love to organize things and make areas look nice and neat…so in essence, this job was perfect for me. It allowed me to think outside the box when it comes to working with tight, cramped spaces and how to professionally conduct myself through my emails and documentation of important files.

lvdc

  • July 2015 – August 2015
  • Position: Camp Counselor for kindergarten girls
  • Duties: watch over 12 little girls, get them to participate in all activities, make sure they all eat what they’re supposed to, change them for swim twice a day/change them back to normal clothes twice a day, make sure everyone has fun and is returned home safely
  • Experience: This was ultimately the most rewarding experience I have ever encountered out of all work that I’ve done. Even though it was by far, the hardest thing I’ve done to date, it was the most fun I had working. I recognized that I really, genuinely enjoy working with kids. This job paved the path to my school counseling ambition.

***Gaps in time due to focus on school

Leave a Reply

