Refining my Identity

When I first started out this website, I was completely baffled by what to put. Even though I’m currently a senior, I have only made casual resumes for part-time jobs and have never actually done a professional one. I thought about it more than writing. I had to keep in mind that my future job setting would most likely be at a school, so I had to keep everything appropriate and maybe a touch of casual to enhance my personality and approachability as a person. I wanted to express that I was a professional who wasn’t just a 2D character. I wanted to show the many sides to me that make me appear like the perfect candidate to be working with kids. For instance, I made sure to include many recreational activities that were stimulating, fun, and not inappropriate for the professional setting. My important links show what I prioritize in the working field, and that is a disciplined character who is well-verse in important issues plaguing the world, how to properly conduct one’s self through means of dress and makeup, and how to follow and maintain a rewarding and healthy lifestyle.

I absolutely did not want to reveal flaws that might hinder me on the job. I made sure to manage my flaws by only showcasing ones that are very relatable to the average person, like my indulgence in food and makeup. I provided a lot of evidence that showed visually how I was “involved,” like the group picture of all of my friends out whitewater rafting and the picture of me at naptime with three out of the twelve girls I was in charge of at camp.

My involvement with the Rutgers University Vietnamese Student Association on the homepage and my professional life page revealed that I was culturally competent and aware. I am, for the most part, Vietnamese, and it helps in that some employers seek to improve the diversity of their faculty and staff. There is an incredible shortage of Vietnamese women in the professional working field, and I really want to help improve the numbers by spreading awareness and appreciation of my culture. This is reflected in my long-term involvement with the organization.

A lot of work I put into this website revolved around my face needs. To be more specific, my positive face. I made sure I appeared likable, and that was my main priority. I wanted a warm and welcoming image of me, which I enacted in not just my content, but even in my theme. My negative face revealed itself in my ten facts about myself, when I showcased my interests and pursuits. All in all, identity management online is incredibly tiring. I was constantly evaluating and re-evaluating if this was okay to put on the website. I would reword things at least five times for my own satisfaction, and even then, I would still be uncertain about keeping it. I think, in essence, this assignment was to show that even though identity management is grueling and tiresome, it is a necessity for us as humans who want to be liked but also want to keep our autonomy.

Leave a Reply

